CommuniKate: Social Media Musings – KateDickman.com CommuniKATE: Social Media & Other Musings

20Aug/080

Update on Serp Spam: Other (Random) Keywords Targeted

The rather upsetting Serp spam (That I spoke of in my last article) that inhibits Google under my name is still there and I have since reported it but am unsure as to how long it will take for them to remove it.  (I'm guessing a while)

The URL of the site is stio-group.com/english/_images/7gcbc/kate-dickman.html

What I did was simply paste stio-group.com/english/_images/7gcbc into Google and up came two more results that yielded the same horrible website.  One was for a woman by the name of Linda Zillman (who barely yields any Google results but is apparently the wife of some President at a University in Maine - random?) as well as results for some sort of Mitsubishi power supply?  When searching for either of these (very rarely searched terms), up pops up the same infected site that comes up for mine.   I looked a bit deeper and it seems another keyword - Dungeon Lords Patch 1 4 (which is apparently a popular gaming download) is infected as well. 

The oddest thing of all?  The STIO Group situated at http://www.stio-group.com/, is a French Freight Forwarding and Logistics company.

Talk about random.  I'm pretty confused to say the least... :-/ 

Yet ANOTHER update:

I decided to try my name on Yahoo & MSN and I see it on the second page of MSN for my name! Only this time under a totally different URL (TWO sites)......it's under Kate Klingsmith (who is ALL over the web) but ranks for my name..whhhhhhhhhhhhhhhat is this nonsense!!?!?! It basically looks like this type of spam/malware is randomly searching out keywords to rank high for and infect and somehow using various websites as URL's to direct you to... I wonder how many other sites/keywords they hijacked? If you look closer, they are trying to rank for "Kate McCann - Mother of Maddie" (the little girl from the UK who is missing as well as some forest products and just a bunch of things. Is this common at all?

SERP SPAM

17Aug/087

Oh My Word – A New Way To Spam? SERP Spam?

Like most people within the tech industry, I oftentimes Google my name to see what sites are ranking for it.  While most of the results on the SERP are of me, many of them are of other Kate Dickman's.  (Go figure, there's quite a few of them out there!)  Well today I noticed a new site ranking for my name.  The page description made absolutely no sense but I was curious to see what it was.  Now maybe this is something that is common but I personally have never heard of it.  I guess the best way to put it is SERP (Search Engine Results Page) Spam?  Again, I'm by far NO SEO expert but this is new to me.

SERP Spam?

SERP Spam?

When I looked up the term SERP Spam, the results that showed up for a keyword or a term was blatantly spam but this?  This is a bit worse.  Here you have a strange unidentifiable site that shows up in the results only to lead you to a bad site that starts psychotically "scanning" your computer and pulling up porn images that SUPPOSEDLY are on your PC and starts flashing images of them (something I really don't need to see) as well as prompting a download of some file.  Again I have never seen this before!  If this is a new method of infiltrating the security of people's computers, then we're in trouble.  It'll be an easy way for people to get viruses while innocently searching for a certain term.  I mean come on, my name?  How in the world?  Lately I've noticed a lot more queries for my name but not enough for something like this to happen I would think.  Definitely sitting here in bewilderment.... if anyone can explain this, let me know!

*UPDATE* 6:05pm 8/18/08 -- It's still up and moving up higher in the rankings....wish Matt Cutts could take a look at this but we all know he's busier than busy!  Again, if any SEO's could take a look and let me know what may be done about this or what could have caused this.... let me know!

*UPDATE #2-10:30pm 8/19/08 - New Post